No one hopes to get injured at work. Sadly, workplace accidents and mishaps are reported frequently in Virginia. Right after the accident, or injury, you are required to inform the supervisor about it. While you have 30 days to do the same, it is important to act as early as possible. The next step is to file a claim with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission, and this must be done within 2 years, from the date of accident. In your own interest, you may want to hire one of Virginia Beach workers’ compensation lawyers, so as to get the benefits you deserve. Below is an overview of filing workers’ compensation claims in the state.
Know your rights
Many workers and employees are not aware of their rights and benefits under the workers’ compensation system. Injured employees can get up to 500 weeks of lost wages, besides disability benefits. Benefits also include payment of medical treatments and therapies, as necessary, under the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act. Every case is unique, which is precisely why meeting an attorney is important, so that you know what to expect from workers’ compensation.
Proving the workers’ compensation case
If you were injured at work, it is important that you prove all details related to the case. For that, you must collect evidence related to the matter. For instance, what were your wages before the accident? Were there any witnesses to the accident? Did you keep a record of informing your supervisor about the accident? What medical treatments have you received so far, and what is the expected line of treatment for the future? You need all the details, so that your workers’ compensation claim has merit. Besides medical records, all details related to the injury, including photos and video footage can come in handy as evidence.
Meeting a workers’ compensation lawyer
There are many law firms in Virginia that deal exclusively with employment laws and workers’ compensation cases. Meeting an attorney is extremely important for your case, although not a must. A skilled workers’ compensation lawyer can evaluate and assess your case, and in case your claim is denied, they can take things forward through appeals. They can also ensure that you get the compensation that you deserve.
Most attorneys will be happy to offer a free initial consultation for your case, and that’s a good window for knowing the lawyer and understanding merits & demerits of the claim.